What is the minimum wage for workers that receive tips?
Minimum wage laws are different for workers who receive tips, such as waiters, busboys, delivery people, barbers, bartenders, and taxi drivers. The minimum wage for tipped employees is based on the federal wage of $7.25 an hour. This means that employers only have to pay $2.13 an hour, provided that the employee, with tips, will earn a minimum of $7.25 an hour. If the tipped minimum wage does not equal to at least $7.25, the employer is legally required to make up the difference.
However, most states have minimum wages that exceed $7.25 an hour. For example, in New York, minimum wage is at $10.40 an hour. The minimum wage in New York City is even higher, at $13 an hour for businesses with 11 or more people. Base wages for tipped employees are currently at $8.65 an hour. There are also different requirements for fast food workers. Wages are expected to increase annually through 2021.
Contact the Employment Law Attorney’s at Ricotta & Marks, P.C.
If you believe your employer has been paying you incorrectly, come tell our attorneys at Ricotta & Marks, P.C., your story. Contact our New York wage and hour dispute lawyers at 800-240-9269 to discuss your situation. We take all wage and hour violation cases on a contingency fee basis, which means there is no fee unless we win your case.